Pancakes…

Growing up, a typical morning breakfast in our home consisted of a bowl of your favorite cereal with milk and a one-a-day vitamin. The only breakfast actually ever”cooked” was on Christmas morning after the gifts had been opened. My dad would make a full on breakfast of eggs, any way you wanted them, bacon, toast and good old O.J..

Well my kids do not subscribe to this way of eating and since the advent of the microwave oven in every home, I doubt many children do. The microwave can make any hot breakfast in a matter of minutes, and I admittedly have gotten into the habit of giving the crowds what they want…a hot breakfast. I buy the ready-made pancakes at Wal-Mart along with the brown and serve sausage, and on most given mornings my kids are chowing down on a hot pancake and sausage breakfast!

But what happens when I run out? The crowds get upset and grumble and say things like…”What’s with your not cooking mom?” “No pancakes, I have to eat cereal?” And when this goes on for more than a couple of days they begin to get angry. But  eventually it will come to a point where they may need to take matters into their own hands!

So the other morning Michael came down to breakfast with his little piggy bank and set it down on the kitchen table. “How much mom?” he says to me. I looked at him and questioned what he was referring to. “How much do pancakes cost mom? Two, three dollars? I’ll give you the money to buy more pancakes.” I just shook my head in disbelief. He really thought that we couldn’t afford to buy pancakes and that is why his morning meal had been reduced to cold cereal and milk. I laughed to myself and smiled at him and told him to keep his money for a rainy day. And I assured him that day I would buy more pancakes.

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in children, Food, humor, parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pancakes…

  1. mom says:

    There is one difference between you and your mother and pancakes or any other item you have to use the stove for. You like to cook , bake, stew or whatever. It never was or never will be one of her favorite jobs.

  2. Hoo Sze Ling says:

    Aw … blessed be Michael!

Leave a Reply

