3 Day Countdown to the NYC Marathon…

“I run because I can. When I get tired I remember those who can’t run, what they’d give to have this simple gift I take for granted, and I run harder for them. I know they would do this for me.”  ~ Unknown Author

It’s a shame the author of this quote is unknown because I’d sure like to thank him or her for it. The marathon is only 3 days away and the 4 long months of training has all come to and end.  The longest run of this journey is yet to begin in less that 72 hours from now.  And as I am sitting here writing I am thinking about the people I know who can’t, for one reason or another, run let alone be able to walk any distance at all. So I have decided to make a few offerings up as a way to honor 3  people in my life who have or had struggles.

The first person I will think of is my brother-in-law Charlie who passed away last November. Charlie endured much pain and suffering before he died. I know there will be tough spots during the marathon and trust me, and I know I will have pain. This pain I will give up for Charlie.

The second person who I will offer my struggles for is my father-in-law Joe. He is a huge part of who my husband is and my husband been a huge supporter of my racing. The miles in which my will becomes weak and I want to cry and quit, I will give these miles up for Joe.

And the third person who has been on my mind greatly in the recent year is my high school friend Amy. Amy has endured a lot due to illness, yet she has shown me what true strength and courage is, and it is this strength and will to fight that has inspired me and kept me going in all my really tough long training runs. I would hit a hill and think…this sucks, and then I would think what Amy is going through at the time and say to myself “that sucks more”…and I’d make it up the hill tired and hurting but doing it because I wanted to be as strong as she is.

So with that being said it is for Amy that I am dedicating this full marathon. She is not a quitter, she is a fighter, she is strong-willed and she is strongly loved. For her I will run as hard as I can because I know if the tables were turned and we were in each others shoes, she would find someway to do exactly the same for me.

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in quotes, Running, thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3 Day Countdown to the NYC Marathon…

  1. Donna says:

    Well said Barb. Can’t wait to join you for this journey of a lifetime

  2. Lina says:

    Good Luck Barb!!!!
    I know you can do it, you are truley a stong and amazing person!

Leave a Reply

