Dear English Ponytail Lady…

I am writing this because there are times when I simply can’t believe some people! This is the scenario…

On Sunday morning I was driving down one of the streets near my neighborhood and I see a large sign that reads…”Yard Sale Sunday”. So of course I am going to have to do a drive by, nothing ventured nothing gained. And it’s Sunday, I had already gone to church and there really wasn’t anything pending that I had to do at the time, and maybe I can pick up something I have been needing or possibly another furniture project. (Like I don’t already have a garage filled with furniture projects!)

So as I approached the yard sale I saw lots of furniture and I began to get all excited. I had Michael in the car with me and I matter of factly asked him if he minded if I stopped. He’s easy-going enough so we did. I got out of the car and immediately spied 3 wood tables of various sizes…thinking to myself there is real potential here. Then a couple of small candlestick lamps caught my eye…mmmm…really has potential was my thought again. So after I did a quick survey I decided to start checking out the pricing on the items for sale. OK this is where I can’t believe people. The two candlestick lamps, small with a somewhat interesting lampshade…$15 each! What I thought this can’t be right. Then I checked out the tables…they were priced from 325 -375 dollars…U.S. Dollars! And these tables were far from being in mint condition. They had dings and scratches, definite signs of many years of wear. But what threw me completely over the edge was a set of six chairs…looked like old wood kitchen chairs with all the paint rubbed off. Now I know people like the patina look, I do to, but would anyone in their right mind pay $350 for a set??? Hello…we are at a yard sale here, not in a furniture store! There is no over head, there are no employees….it’s only you lady and the crap you hauled out of your house!!! Just because you’re wearing little brown English riding boots and breeches,  your shoulder length blonde hair pulled back into a neat ponytail, and you live in freaking Tewksbury, doesn’t mean people are going to shell out top dollar for your old used and abused junk. Yes you can price it anyway you want, but really, who is out hitting yards sales, on a Sunday no less, with a few thou in their pocket? Oh and if they don’t have that kind of money on them are they really going to want to run home to raid their kid’s piggy banks just to buy your old beat up furniture???

And then to top it all off, I overheard this English ponytail lady actually counter a completely fair offer from a potential buyer! Sheesh I thought…you really are out of your tree!

Well I have to tell you that I grabbed Michael and made a bee line to my car. Honestly, I really felt like I was in some sort of parallel universe where the junk you pull out of your basement is worth more that an item bought off a showroom floor! I would have loved to have taken a drive past that house in Tewksbury later on in the day just to see what she didn’t sell and was stuck having to drag back into her house.

So it would be suffice to say that the yard sales in my neck of the woods are not  yard sales at all, and these people really think that their crap doesn’t stink!

You know I have half a mind to print this off and stuff it in her damn mailbox!

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in Decorating, Furniture, humor, thoughts, Yard Sales and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dear English Ponytail Lady…

  1. Where I live, we choose yard sales by the location. In particular areas, beaten up by toddlers counts as “shabby chic,” and the price tag reflects it. They may change their tune when they fine they have to keep their stuff.

  2. raburcke says:

    Reality is stranger than fiction!

Leave a Reply

