What Would You Do?

Warm chocolate lava cake

Image via Wikipedia

The other morning after putting my two children on the bus for school, I headed down to the super Walmart which is about 20 minutes from my house. To be honest I try to do most of my grocery shopping there because it really is cheaper than the regular supermarkets, at least where I live.

Upon my arrival, I grabbed a shopping cart and went on into the store.  I milled around a bit in produce and then down one or two of the freezer isles before coming across a lady doing a food demonstration at the end of one of the isles. She was making a cake with a molten chocolate filling and the cake was piping hot as she had just taken it out of the mini microwave oven. “Would you like to try a sample of some nice hot chocolate lava cake?” she asked in a friendly enough voice. And really who could turn down a warm chocolate anything at 9 in the morning or anytime for that matter. I replied with a very enthusiastic “Sure” and she handed me a small cup with the cake inside and a fork to eat with. I gobbled it down, made a few remarks about how good it was to the lady who was behind me waiting for her treat, and then I was off to do the rest of my shopping.

I went up and down just about every isles in the grocery section gathering up things I needed. At one point I stopped to ask a manager what isle I would find peanut butter in, then returned to my shopping and all the while interacting with several other customers in the store. I even wheeled my cart through the electronics department to check out the new flat screen TV’s and briefly spoke with a clerk there before taking my cart to the check out line. I wheeled up behind an elderly couple who happened to be having some sort of issue with how they were going to pay for their items. The woman turned to me and apologized for holding up the line. I smiled and shook my head saying “No Problem…I’m not in any rush” and they smiled back as to say thank you. Then it was my turn and since I had a good amount of things in my shopping cart it took about 8-10 minutes for the cashier to ring everything up. So in the meantime we chatted about the weather and what not.

After everything was bagged and paid for I wheeled my cart on out to the parking lot towards my car passing one or two people along the way and smiling my hello to them. I opened up the back door of the mini van and filled it with my bags of food, then I closed it up and handed my cart off to one of the young men who takes the carts from the parking lot back to the store.  I opened my door and hopped into the driver’s seat, put my key in the ignition and turned it, shifted the car into reverse and looked in my rearview mirror to make sure all was clear.  And when I looked in the mirror I was stunned. Right there on the right side of my face just above my lip was this giant brown glob of molten chocolate!!! How could it be that not one person said anything to me? Not even the sweet little lady who watched me eat the flippin cake? Ya think she could have at the very least handed me a napkin? But no…no one said a word, most of them probably thought it was some weird mole on my face. I just couldn’t believe that I had walked around that store for a good 50 minutes looking like this…geeeesh!

So I ask you now…what would you have done? Would you have said anything to some poor women walking around Walmart with food on her face, or would you just pretend that you didn’t notice it?

Ahhh…now that I think about it, maybe this could be a new hidden camera topic for ABC’s prime-time show 20/20 and good old John Quinones to tackle!

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in Food, shopping, thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Would You Do?

  1. Donna says:

    I would have said something. It’s like that same old ” excuse but your flys down thing”

  2. Pingback: My Little Taz « onlyspartanwomen

Leave a Reply

