Marathon Update…I’m Back!!!

After a miserable show of running ability last week…ready to quit and not run the marathon at all…I was kicked in the butt with a stern pep talk from my dear friend Donna. She reminded me of a number of things I, for the most part, already knew and just needed to hear again. But the one thing she said to me in order to motiate me, was to try was to think of someone who may have had it difficult in the past or right now and are unable to do what I am doing with my running. Think of that person and run for them. I remember when my husband Chris ran NYC three years ago, he told me that anytime things got tough for him he would give up the mile or two or three for his dad. He said it made it easier mentally to push through the rough parts of the course. Trying to put behind me the self-defeating thoughts that went through my head on Sunday and thinking about what Donna had said, I got my sorry ass out on Monday evening and did an eight mile run, finally breaking through the 6 miler ceiling I was stuck behind.  Then on Tuesday another 3 miles and today a full 30 minute fartlek run at the gym burning over 400 calories! Hey and my scale dropped two pounds…probably all water but I’ll take it!  Tomorrow is my cross-training day and I will be back in Pilates for a 45 minute class followed by 30 minutes on the weight circuit. So here is a shout out to Donna…I am back and I promise that I will not let you down!!!

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

