Marathon Update…

What a difference a couple of days can make. On Friday I was so wiped out I could barely get off the freakin’ couch, and today I was able to get a 5.5 mile run done despite the fact that the temperature was a little bit on the warm side for me. I know it has been said that running is 90% mental and I’ll tell you I am here to agree. For some reason, maybe the extra 15 lbs I’ve been hauling with me on my runs, I have had to break down and walk a little while thinking to myself “I can’t do this”. But today, even though the start was tough, I did a full 4 + mile run and then tacked on another 1.1 mile by doing an extra lap around my block. I was far from setting any personal best with regard to speed, in fact if I was running an 11 min. mile I’d be surprised, but mentally I finally felt like “I can do this.”

So both the heat and humidity are slated to return tomorrow which means that I will have to push myself to do that 5 am run. I plan to do 3.5-4 miles….but if I am feeling REALLY good….maybe I’ll take on that extra mile!

Miles run last week      17 miles

Longest run                   5.5 miles

Weight loss                      .5 lbs

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marathon Update…

  1. way to go Barb. check your inbox for our marathon training schedule. It offically begins tomorrow yeah !!!!!! 16 weeks til the big race in the big apple

Leave a Reply

