Marathon Update…

Ok one week into training and I am still feeling slow and heavy during my runs. The weather has changed, much better for running, no humidity and more comfortable temperatures.

I’m up to a little over 2 mile runs, maybe taking one short walking break somewhere in the latter part of my run. As far as breathing, it’s a bit better than last week but nowhere near what it will need to be to get me through 26.2 miles. It will improve I know as I build up the miles. Today I tried to talk one of my neighbors into training with me…she is seriously thinking about it. I hope she says yes…it will help me stay committed and focused.

On the scale today…165.4 lbs so a pound and a half is gone. Had some cantaloupe, blueberries, and low-fat cottage cheese for breakfast. Most likely will have a salad with grilled chicken for lunch, green pepper stuffed with ground turkey meat for dinner. Still trying to stick to the 18ookcal/day for weight loss.

So right now I am holding steady and keeping motivated. Going to rejoin the gym in July for cross training purposes.  Started reading Matty Long’s book “The Long Run” for additional motivation. Also plan to read “A Race Like No Other” by Liz Robbins which profiles the NYC marathon athletes, both the “pros and plodders” and gives a mile by mile description of the race through the 5 boroughs.

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marathon Update…

  1. mom says:

    HI BARB,

    I WISH I COULD FIND SOMETHING IN MY DAILY LIFE THAT I COULD GET INTERESTED IN. YOU HAVE SO MANY GET UP AND GO INTEREST AND I CAN’T FIND ONE. WISH THERE WAS SOMEWAY YOU CAN TELL ME HOW AMBITIOUS YOU ARE WHEN YOU REACH MY AGE. IT WOULD BE VERY INTERESTING, I KNOW I WOULD BE JEALOUS.

    • bacurran says:

      I have to do something to justify me being a stay-at-home mom! I wish I could pick one thing and perfect it but I just can’t seem to do that. I suppose I will always be a “Jack of all trades but master of none”

      This blog is really for Michael and Grace so they will always now who I am. Wouldn’t it have been wondrful if you had something like this from your father to read when you were grown up? I think that may have been my inspiration for Big Giant Dog.

Leave a Reply

