Marathon

Well I made it into the New York City marathon this coming November and as long as I can stay healthy during these next few months of training, I will be able to scratch off one of my old bucket list’s top items.

In order to help me reach this goal I have decided to blog my training for the marathon. Basically I am doing this to keep myself an honest woman.  The marathon is November 6th so I have 182 days to prepare to run in the greatest race in the world. I plan to not only log my running hours but also my cross training, diet and hopefully my weight loss. My goal is to weigh in at 150lbs or less by marathon day. I have been out of the regular running loop for so long that I am now hauling an extra 17 pounds around on my sorry ass that I don’t need and will no longer tolerate anymore.

I intend to stay motivated in many ways, and putting it out here in writing is one way to ensure I make good on my commitment. (That and the fact that I just shelled out $196 smackaroonies to run in this damn thing!)

So here we go…got on the scale this morning… 167lbs. on my 5’8 frame. (Ugh!)  Took the kids to the bus stop in my running clothes and shoes…everything is tight on me except the shoes. Met my two neighbors for a brisk morning walk and then did a trot around the block without stopping. (Yeah me!) It was a good start right? It was a good start until I began thinking after I finished my run, 25.1 more miles to go. “Oh God”, I thought to myself, “you’ve gotta stop thinking like this or it will defeat you before you ever have the chance to start.” I remembered when I ran Philadelphia; I broke the 26.2 miles down to 5 mile increments which kept me from becoming too overwhelmed. It’s just like anything else, if you break it down into smaller segments, segments of which you can easily wrap your brain around, the task or challenge at hand seems to become more doable. So this is what I have to do with my training. I must think about what I have accomplished, not what still needs to be accomplished, you know one step or run at a time. Funny, running is really a metaphor for life; everything can seem like too much if you are overly focused on the big picture, end product or goal. It’s really the journey which is truly the important part, that’s where the real fun of it all lies anyway. And with running you get out of it exactly what you put into it!!!

In retrospect maybe it was good for me to have taken some time off and begin again almost from scratch. I’m taking on the full challenge, fighting injury, pain, heat, cold, and even gravity, with the plan of being victorious!

Oh and one more thing, the day after the marathon I turn 50, a full half century, and I want to be able to say…”Take that middle age and put it where the sun don’t shine!”  I’m kicking some major ass here and I’m not taking any prisoners!!!

 

Today’s Stats

Miles run  – 1.1

Cross training – walk 3.5 miles

Weight   – 167lbs

Calories to consume  – 1800kcals (Calorie consumption based on activity level and the goal to loose 1 lb per week.)

Supplements – 1800mg calcium with 1800mg D /day and 3000 mg fish oil/day

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marathon

  1. Pingback: Day 141 – Rebirth « A Year Of Living Wisely

Leave a Reply

