My “Idol” Chat

  OK…so we are now full force into the new American Idol season and I have to say that I really don’t miss the scowl of Simon Cowell. I don’t miss his sarcasm and rudeness towards the contestant’s performances, nor do I miss the constant fighting and annoying flirting and all the other sidebar antics of the judge’s table that Simon always seemed to be a catalyst for. The show now is much more enjoyable to watch. I love JLo and even Steven Tyler is beginning to grow on me, although in my opinion he needs to step up to the plate and give a little more to the contestants in the way of constructive criticism. And Randy Jackson has finally lost the word “pitchy” from his vocabulary! But as far as the talent of the contestants goes, I think they are off the chart…”e to the z oh tweedly dee”!

Now some of the things that have happened this week on Idol I don’t really think would have flown well if Simon was still on the judge’s panel. Like Wednesday night after Jacob Lusk’s performance when Steven Tyler ran on to the stage to give Jacob a big bear hug and called him Baby Luther, referring to the late great Luther Vandross. Then Ryan took it one step further and invited the whole first row of the audience to come up on stage and do the same thing.  If Simon where there well then nope, it never would have happened. And if by chance it did, he would have totally called both Tyler and Seacrest on it! The other thing I think Cowell would have not tolerated performance wise was the African dance interlude by Naima Adedapo during her Wednesday night performance of “Dancing in the Street”. I think he would have shut that performance down citing that the show is a singing contest and not a dance contest!

But like I said the talent this year is “crazy” good! Along with the obvious talents of both Jacob Lusk and Pia Toscono, there is Scotty McCreery with his low country voice. I still can’t believe that voice comes out of that face, but it is amazing. And then there’s James Durbin’s rocker voice and attitude which continues to blow me away week after week.

Yes I think American Idol season ten is off to a good start, and I feel that the producers did the right thing by going straight from the 24 contestants down to the top 13 in one fowl swoop, and by letting the judges determine who the top 13 will be.

Now I just hope that poor Casey Abrams can manage to pull himself back together after last night’s stunner “save” by the judges. I honestly thought for a moment he was going to pull a Marie Osmond and simply pass out! He definitely looked as if he initially had trouble breathing and you could actually see all the color drain from his face! To be perfectly frank I was a bit scared there for a while regarding young Casey’s health!

So to wrap this one up…I am really liking this season and to coin one of Simon Cowell’s favorite negativley descriptive words, I don’t think there’s anything “karaoke” about it.

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in thoughts, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

