Our Very Special St. Patrick’s Day Gift…from God

Well it’s St. Patrick’s day today, my husband’s second favorite holiday with Christmas being his first. Yes today I woke up singing “When Irish Eyes are Smiling” feeling light in my heart and so happy to welcome this almost Spring day. Later on this afternoon we will enjoy the company of our dear friends and celebrate St. Pat’s Day along with the 6th anniversary of our first meeting them.

March 17, 2005, Chris and I went to a local pub and restaurant for corn beef and cabbage, a pint of Guinness for him and a pint of Smithwicks for me, and of course some live Irish music and dancing. We got to the restaurant about 5:30 and the line was already way out of the door. We literally had almost a 2 hour wait to get a table for dinner, and while we were waiting we met this lovely couple who we seemed to have just about everything in common with. He was half Lithuanian and so am I. She was half Irish and my husband is Irish. Her birthday is 2 days after Chris’s and his birthday is the same day as my parent’s wedding anniversary, and we all got married right before Christmas. But the thing that really pulled us together was the fact that both of us were trying to have a family.

 So when the waitress seated us, they were at a table for 4 and we were seated at a table for 2. Then I got the bright idea of asking them if they’d care if we joined them at their table for dinner. “ Absolutely” was their reply and we ate and drank and gabbed until we were just plumb tuckered out. We exchanged phone numbers because yes we both live in the same town, and bid each other a good night.

 A few weeks later I decided to invite this delightful couple to join us for dinner at our home. I also invited my dear friend Donna and her husband too. So the six of us enjoyed a wonderful meal together on that Saturday evening in April. We shared stories and feelings and had, what even today we still describe as, a spiritual connection. Now at the time all three of the couples at dinner that night were trying to start families. Donna and her husband along with Chris and myself were in the throes of trying to adopt. Our new friends were trying to conceive a child. Another reason which really magnetized ourselves to one another.

 Dinner ended and we went on our separate ways. Of course we continued to keep in touch and then something happened that seemed to be almost like a miracle. In December of that same year, our new friends became parents and had a beautiful bouncing baby boy. He was born on the 6th day of the month. Three days later Chris and I came home from Kazakhstan with Micheal and Grace. Five days after our homecoming, Donna and her husband returned from Russia with their 19 month old son. So in ten days time all three couples were sharing in the delight of being first time parents.

Coincidence? I don’t think so. If ever I knew and felt the hand of God guiding me in my journey here on earth, it was then. When I think about it…we all connected on such a deep level that April evening, it just felt so perfect like we were living in God’s light, natural, unpretentious and feeling so alive with each other. It is the way I believe life should be everyday if we just stick to what is important and real.

 So today as I head out to meet our friends for dinner, I will be wearing my Irish smile along with my green attire, but I will also know in my heart that this friendship was something which was conceptualized in heaven and then given to us all as a very precious gift from God.

So a very Happy St. Patick’s Day to you all!

May God be with you and bless you,
May you see your children’s children,
May you be poor in misfortune, rich in blessings.
May you know nothing but happiness
From this day forward.

~ Irish Proverb

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in family, God, Post a Day, quotes, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

