Mommy Magic and a Lesson in Economics

Oh and now for the latest news on Grace’s antics …. 

 Yesterday I found a note in Grace’s school bag that she has an outstanding balance of $11 due for purchased lunches at school. As I am reading it I’m thinking…”She’s only bought lunch 3 or 4 times this year and I just sent in $30 in October for lunches. That should have easily gotten her 10 lunches.” Then the light bulb went off….”GRACE!!!” I yelled!!!

 Grace ran over to me with an inquisitive look are her face…”Yes Mommy”(So hard to be mad at them when they don’t know what’s coming)

 “Grace, did you buy lunch on the days I sent lunch in with you? Grace stood and stared, not sure where I was going with this so she paused, afraid to answer.

Again I asked…”Did you buy lunch on days I sent lunch in with you? For example the days I found your sandwiches floating in the toilet….I am going to assume that you didn’t actually go hungry on those days did you?” All of a sudden her face drooped a bit. She was totally snagged. “No mommy I didn’t. But how did you know?”

 Ahhhh this was always the thing I could never figure out when I was a kid. Just how did my mother have the inside scoop on things I did at school.

 I held up the note from school. “It says here that I owe $11 for lunches you’ve bought. How can that be if you have only gone to school a handful of days without a lunch in your backpack? 

Grace, still trying to figure a way out of this situation, looked down at her bare feet as if they contained the answer to my question that would save her from not only the embarrassment of being caught but also from my mommy rath.

 Finally she looked at me and said a very sorrowful and meek “Yes”

 I shook my head and said “Grace I thought you would know by now that I will always find out about things you do and think you can keep a secret. It is part of my Mommy Magic. And someday when you are a mommy, you will have this magic too.”

 So yes I sent the money into school with her today along with a note that Grace’s account is now closed. She needs to learn that she cannot abuse a privilege given to her and that no, her father is not the local branch of the “Money Tree”!

 Unfortunately kids today have yet one more thing on their plates and like it or not, they are forced to learn this lesson in economics at a very early age.

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in children, parenting, Post a Day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

