Are you Kidding me?

OK…the kids have been off way too much this year since the Christmas break. Between all the snow days and the “observances”, my kids are simply done with school. Michael was home for two days in the beginning of the week, legitimately sick, but now it’s Thursday and he is still trying to play the “sick” card! And then Grace, who in no way would want to miss out on possibly getting a day off from school, jumps on the band wagon and so this morning they both came downstairs complaining that they “don’t feel good” and “Will you check my temperature mom?” What are you kidding me? Both kids are just fine! Last night Michael was running around like a mad man and Grace was practicing for her part in the class play…she’s soldiers number 1 and 2.

I remember trying to pull that stunt when I was a kid, but I never ever got away with it. My brother on the other hand was far more clever that I…he would actually take the thermometer and hold it over a lit light bulb. Of course when his temp read 119, well let’s just say he went to school that day. The other thing he would do is sneak some of his cereal upstairs to the bathroom and toss it into the toilet. Then call my mom and tell her that he just threw up. He may have pulled the wool over her eyes the first time, but after that I think my mom was wise to my brother’s tricks!

Admittedly, I think that most likely this is the toughest time of the school year for kids. It’s cold outside, they have another month of school until their spring break, it is the time of year that everyone gets sick and well given the number of unplanned days off, they just don’t want to go to school!

So should I cut them a break?

Nah! They’re young, first and second grades, and if they are lazy about going to school now then where the hell will they be in 10 years from now?  Or 20 years for that matter? “What, you’re not going to college or out to a job because you don’t feel like it and would rather stay in bed?” Ha…no way are they living with mom and pop until the ripe old age of 30 because they didn’t want to go to school or work! They are just going to have to say “no” to the lazies, grab their backpacks and coats, slap a smile on to their bright shiny faces and climb aboard the old yellow school bus, waving goodbye to their cozy comfy home and head out to the land of academics and learning, where the teachers are kings and the school principal reigns supreme!

                          

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in children, parenting, Post a Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are you Kidding me?

  1. kbomb78 says:

    You Go mom don’t let them get the best of you. I have my kids so scared I am going to get fired if I have to miss work because they are sick that when my son is really sick the nurse calls and says he didnt want me to call you but he’s running a fever! Lol

    • bacurran says:

      Thanks for your comment…glad to know I’m not alone with my way of thinking. I’m constantly telling my kids that I went to “Mean Mommy School” and graduated at the head of my class!

  2. I REMEMBER THOSE GOOD OLD DAYS WHEN I MY SELF TRIED SOME OF THOSE TRICKS, SOMETIMES THEY WORKED AND OTHER TIMES NOT TO GOOD.

    AND THEN I MYSELF HAD TO PLAY THE DECIDER, AT FIRST IT WAS HARD BECAUSE YOU WEREN’T SURE IF YOU ALL WERE TRULY UNDER THE WEATHER OR JUST WANTED A DAY OFF.

    WHEN YOU ARE A PARENT YOU HAVE MANY JOBS. MOTHER, DOCTOR, NURSE, WAITRESS, COOK, HOUSEKEEPER, DISCIPLARIAN, WARDEN JUST TO MENTION A FEW. OH I ALMOST FORGOT, REFEREE THAT’S A BIG ONE WHEN THE FIGHTS BROKE OUT AMONGST THEM.

    ALL IN ALL I WOULDN’T CHANGE IT IF I HAD TO GO THROUGH IT AGAIN. I HAVE THE NICEST CHILDREN AND IT WAS ALL WORTH IT.

    MOM

  3. bacurran says:

    Thanks mom…and thank you for all the hats you had to wear…and you did wear them well!

Leave a Reply

