My Girl is Growing Up!

Last evening I was feeling the beginning of what I thought might be the flu. I was achy with chills and didn’t feel like doing much of anything.

“Gracie”, I said, “Would you mind making the meatballs for dinner tonight. I’m not feeling good and probably shouldn’t be cooking.”

With that her eyes lit up and a big grin appeared on her face. “I can do that for you mommy!”

We went into the kitchen together and I pulled out a package of ground meat. Grace dumped it into the bowl and I added the spices and bread crumbs to the meat. Grace dove in with both hand to combine all of the ingredients. Then she started making her meatballs, trying to be very precise with regards to the size of each one.

“Mommy, you know they must all be the same size so they all cook evenly.” she smile and said. I smiled back wondering “Am I raising a little chef-to-be here?” Then she went on to tell me about the time she and Uncle Charlie made meatballs together. I was thinking “Maybe he is standing right behind her watching and smiling…gee I sure hope so…gosh how I miss Uncle Charlie.” At this point Grace told me to go lie down and not to worry about anything, she had it all under control.

I still wanted to keep an eye on her so I peeked in from the living room every couple of minutes. I had made sauce on Sunday and we still had some left over. Grace placed each of her meatballs into the sauce, being careful not to damage any of them. Then she pulled out a large pot and filled it with water, placed it on the stove and, well didn’t know how to turn on the burner. She fiddled and fiddled and then finally came into the living room and said that she didn’t “know how to do this part.”

By this time Chris was home and helped her complete her dinner service. We all enjoyed Grace’s meatballs and she was so proud of herself.

This morning Grace got up extra early and went down into the kitchen. I heard her rattling around but I didn’t want to go down and spy. Then, after a couple minutes went by, she came running up the steps and into my bedroom.

“Mom, you don’t have to worry about making our lunches today, I’ve already made them.” she said with a huge grin on her face.

I know it will only be a few short years until her big thrill will be driving a car and going off to college, it’s just all going by too fast now. Once they begin to do some of the things I always did for them, I know it won’t be long until they can do it all themselves and they won’t need me anymore in that way.

I’m so proud of her but a little weepy at the same time. Gracie is growing up…and all I can do is to enjoy every moment I have with my little girl!

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in children, Post a Day, thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Girl is Growing Up!

  1. WOW GRACE NEVER SEEMS TO AMAZE ME. SHE IS ONE GIRL WITH MANY TALENTS , I KNOW SHE IS GROWING UP FAST, BUT, I ALSO KNOW I WENT THROUGH THE SAME FEELINGS WITH YOU ALL GROWNG UP WHEN I TURNED MY BACK. TELL GRACE HER GRANDMA2@ GRANDPA ARE VERY PROUD OF HER.

    MOM

Leave a Reply

