How do I stay entertained when I am snowed in?

Well the Post A Day topic for this Monday is “How do you stay entertained when you are snowed in?” In light of the fact that the national weather service is calling for snow over the next two days, I felt the need to jump on this one. To begin, I had to laugh…I have two small children so how do you think I stay entertained?  The first couple hours of any given snow day I may actually have to myself…read, check emails and Facebook, possibly while sipping on my favorite flavored coffee.  The snow is exciting to the kids and they are up early playing very nicely together. But by hour three the fights have begun and Michael and Grace are at each other’s throats! So in comes mommy the referee, hoping not to get slammed in the head with the crossfire of toys flying through the room.

I’ll first try to reason with them, but that is usually to no avail. Then I will offer them food as a way to not only bribe them but also to distract them so they knock off the fighting.  Normally they will want to barter good behavior for a sugar coated treat, which I know will not help my cause, so it quickly will become a mute offering on my part. Then I will move on to threats…I’ll tell them that if they are board they can go clean their respective rooms. I am usually met with resistance on this idea, but occasionally it will get them up into their rooms with some type of distraction which keeps them quiet for a few minutes, but then the fighting shortly will ensue and I am sadly back to square one.

You may say, “Why don’t you just spend time on a project with your kids…like baking something?” Again I’d say Ha!!! Trying a project like this with Michael and Grace is asking for a fight to start! When you weigh and measure everything that goes into the making of the prospective cake or batch of cookies, you are asking them to weigh and measure every little thing they get to do in the creation of said cake or cookies. I might as well say “OK kids… let’s try to figure out who is going to get screwed by being short changed on this project!”

And I refuse to let them sit mindlessly in front of the old boob tube! We may try to find common ground on a Netflex movie, and quite possibly we may all come to an agreement on what movie to watch…and that is all good. But alas the movie will end and “No you are not watching it again and again and again!!!” All I can hope for is that the sky will clear, the sun will come out and I can ship them outside kicking and screaming to go play in the snow! And if I am really lucky, I will be able to grab a second cup of coffee and bask in a few minutes of silence before they come clamoring in the back door wanting hot chocolate and complaining that it’s too cold outside!

So dear creator of the Post A Day topic…that is how I entertain myself when I am snowed in!!!

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in children, parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

