R.I.P. my GE Profile Microwave Oven

It died…it’s done, it fried and it’s all over…rest in peace my poor overused and underappreciated microwave for you have served me well.

Three days ago I discovered that my microwave had moved on to greener pastures, so it has been three days of living without a microwave and can I tell you how spoiled one can get with all of our modern conveniences.

No quick defrosting, no microwave popcorn, no leftovers to be reheated in 2 minutes flat and now I actually have to boil water ON THE STOVE TOP to make hot cocoa for the kids. It’s an adjustment, but as much of an adjustment it is for me since I am the main cook around these parts, I was quite shocked to hear my husband say…”I just can’t live without a microwave!”

Remember the days before microwave ovens??? You actually had to take the time to pull out a pot and wait for whatever you wanted to eat to heat up. It wasn’t until 1986 that I purchased a beautiful pure white Sharp Carousel microwave oven as a gift for my parent’s 30th wedding anniversary…and it was quite the excitement in our house that September day. The microwave was put in a place of honor as well as easy access and within the few days of owning it, we as an entire family suddenly could not imagine our lives without a microwave oven.

Before that momentous day my parents often said, “We don’t need a microwave oven! We have our stove and oven to heat things, so why would we need one of those new fangled contraptions cluttering up our countertop?” Ahh words to be reheated and choked on…my parents have not been without a microwave since that day in 1986, and to be perfectly honest, neither have I.

So although I am morning the loss of a faithful and well loved appliance, I am also extremely excited and looking forward to the purchase of a new millennium 2011 deluxe supersized extra wattage with wide capacity under cabinet mount microwave oven with a black and stainless steel front.

 It will be a beautiful thing…and I know that there is no way I would be able to imagine my life without it!

“In the middle of the 1980’s microwave ovens began enjoying great popularity in all over the world. In fact, production of the first micro ovens began in 1965 in USA, their cost exceeded $3 000. However, cheapening of the technology made this kitchen device so popular only in the middle of the 1980. “Make dinner in 5 minutes!” – This motto made millions of people buy microwaves. New standards of public catering (fast food) also contributed to sales growth of microwave ovens. Today the microwave is a bestseller among household devices.”  ~ The internet

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in humor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

