12 Days of Christmas

I just learned this in my 4th grade religious education class…and no I’m not in 4th grade I teach 4th grade!

In 16th century England, two Jesuit priests were said to put together or compose a carol in which they devised a code for the basic truths of the Catholic faith. They are as follows:

A partridge in a Pear tree = Jesus Christ reigning from the cross

Two Turtle doves = old and new testaments

Three French hens = the 3 gifts of the magi

Four calling birds = the four Gospels

Five golden rings = the first five books of the bible

Six geese a laying = the six precepts of the church

Seven swans a swimming = seven sacraments

Eight maids a milking = the Beatitudes

Nine ladies dancing = the nine choirs of angels

Ten Lords a leaping = the Ten Commandments

Eleven Pipers piping = the Apostles after Judas’ death

Twelve Drummers drumming = twelve basic beliefs in the Apostles’ Creed

So there you have it the Twelve Days of Christmas explanation. And the twelve days begin the evening of 25th of December and continue until January 6th which many call “Little Christmas” also known as the Epiphany.


About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s