Volunteering…

Today I spent 2 hours volunteering at a local thrift store which helps to fund one of the food pantries in my area. I went with a friend who has been volunteering her time for the past two months…she goes in to help sort donated clothes and other items every Tuesday. I had thought about doing more volunteer work and this fit into my schedule perfectly.

And I have to say I was amazed at how much stuff there was to sort through. People donate EVERYTHING! Toys, blankets, curtains, pictures, brand new packages of socks, wedding gowns, all types of trinkets, jewelry, ironing board covers, shoes, along with clothing items in every color and size! Some of it in good condition, some not, but all I can say is that the back doorbell rang all morning with people dropping things off that needed to be sort through.  

It really felt good to help out the little that I did today. It’s kind of a cleansing of the soul to give your time to help a cause which helps the needy. My friend was afraid that I might get grossed out by sorting through the clothing items…not everything dropped off had been recently laundered. But it really didn’t bother me too much, after all I do sort through dirty laundry generated by three other people in my house, and that includes the underpants of my 6 year old son, if you catch my drift!

So I plan to go back next Tuesday and again volunteer 2-3 hours of my time…it’s good to do menial work for a worthy cause…it keeps you humble and appreciative of all that you do have, especially during this season of profound love and giving.

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

