Don’t touch…

This morning I was on the computer and all of a sudden I heard a crash and the sound of glass breaking. I jumped up and ran into the bathroom where Michael and Grace were standing…”What happened? “

Michael said “Grace broke your thing.”

I looked down and on the floor was one of those candle jars I had bought for the bathroom and it was broken into about 10 pieces.

“How did that happen?” I asked again

“Grace did it mom” Michael said throwing his sister under the bus.

“How?” I repeated.

“She opened that box” and he pointed to the box my husband had placed on the sink top last evening.

“She opened it and knocked your thing over.”

I looked at Grace, she was unable to hide the guilty expression she had on her face, and I said…”Why did you touch the box, you know it doesn’t belong to you. Every time you touch something that is not yours, something always happens and it’s never good for you! Honestly Grace, I am more upset about the fact that you touched something that is not yours then I am about the candle breaking !”

Grace just pouted…”I know mom, I’m sorry” she said “and I won’t do it again!”

Why is it that it can take repeated incidents with poor outcomes until they learn not to touch something that is not theirs?

 One of the many mysteries of parenthood…

                                                       …One of the many lessons of childhood.

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t touch…

  1. Doona says:

    hence the term, curiosity killed the cat, or something along those lines

Leave a Reply

