It’s OK honey…you don’t have to eat that!

Have you seen the new commercial for Pediasure? The mom is in the kitchen unpacking groceries and she starts talking about all the foods her daughter won’t eat! Then she goes on the say that she has to buy the Pediasure because her daughter has such a crappy diet that it is now affecting her normal growth!

 What’s up with that????

Whatever happened to “Eat all your vegetables so you will grow up to be big and strong”?

I can honestly say that there is no way that my parents would have, in a million years, gone out and purchased a diet supplement because I said “No” to broccoli! What a sad statement on the way our children are being raised.  Are parents today just too lazy to make sure their child eats right or are they running scared of being charged with child abuse because they had forced little Johnny to eat all his peas?

In my opinion, and it may sound a little crazy, but parents are in charge…not the child! Parents are the grownups with life experience, they tell the child what to eat and the child eats it. Hey as long as it’s not poison being served, that kid has no right to say no to it! Hell I was a teenager before my mom realized that I truly hated fried bologna and potato pancakes. But prior to that, yes I was forced to eat it whenever it was served because it was MY DINNER and I wasn’t getting anything else to eat in its place!

What’s next…oh little Sally really doesn’t want to spend time on her homework, so I told her she didn’t have to do it! My Bobby doesn’t care to come to practices, so is it OK if he skips them but still plays on Saturday? No honey…don’t bother with getting a college education or going thru medical school and  a residency, I’m sure they will still let you do brain surgery on any one you want!

This is taking it to an extreme I will admit, but honestly, could you have ever imagine saying, “No mom, I don’t want to drink my milk or eat my veggies because I don’t like them”, and your parents being “OK” with that answer? Most likely it would probably result in you getting an extra spoon full of whatever vegetable it was that you didn’t like put on your plate!

To sum it up…the angle being used in this TV commercial is to say that it is socially acceptable for our children to make their own nutritional decisions, even if it has a negative impact on their health, so you need to buy this!

Well I say it’s not socially acceptable and that parents have to bear the responsibility of making sure their child knows the right foods to eat and, does in fact, eat them.

Like my mom always said, “Don’t you believe everything you see on TV dear.”

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

