People

I am amazed at how awful and inappropriate some people can be at times.  But more often than not, I am overwhelmed by how wonderful and generous most people are most of the time.

Somehow in His infinite wisdom, God has hardwired us to care about one another, to have compassion for each other. And I won’t hesitate to say that there are people who must have had some sort of snafu with their wiring…a short circuit if you will, which has rendered them selfish and self centered, with no connection to anyone else unless it serves them in some way. There are people who believe they are the center of the universe and everything and everyone else must revolve around them. If someone is in need in the life of such narcissistic people, these individuals will stay far removed from the situation both physically and emotionally, because they can’t seem to see beyond the ends of their own noses. I think that is sad…not so much for the person in need, but for the person who would refuse to, in any way, become involved with helping someone because they just cannot find the worth in it all.

 But like I said, more times than not I think people are wonderful…so they make up the difference for the others ten fold. People show they care in a variety of different ways…in a card, an email, a phone call. They send food and flowers, some people will even take the time to make a personal appearance at a nursing home all dressed up as a beloved baseball mascot, just to visit a friend’s infirmed relative. But I think what impresses me the most is the time they take to do all these nice things…the time they take out of their busy days to spend on someone who may be in some type of need. Personally I believe the  greatest gift we have to bestow upon one another…is simply put…our time.

So yes, overall in my opinion, people are good…we are wired that way…because God saw to it!

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

