This is for you Charlie…

 I decided to run up the next hill as fast as I could…I wanted to run that hill for Charlie. My husband always tells me that if the miles become difficult during a long run, give those miles up for someone who is suffering…so this morning I decided to run up that hill for Charlie.

As I approached the hill I began to pick up my pace…I was pushing as hard as I could to get up it. The wind was whipping and all around me the leaves were swirling. I was chanting the whole time to myself, “This is for you Charlie, this is for you!” And it seemed that the harder and faster I ran, the harder and faster the wind blew, and the swirling leaves began to strike me, some stinging my legs as they hit!

When I reached the top I stopped, I was panting and dizzy, and sweat was just pouring out of me. Once I caught my breath I turned around to look at the hill I had just climbed. After a minute or so, I slowly started to walk back down the hill, and then a strange thing happened…I suddenly realized that I could hear the wind and see the leaves being whisked across the road, but I couldn’t feel it. My hair was not blowing and my shirt was not being rattled or ruffled, the leaves blew by but not one hit me… it was like I was in a bubble of some sort.

There was a soothing yet strange calm protecting me from all the wind’s fury.

Then I stopped for a moment…

And in my heart I could feel Charlie say, “This is for you Barb.”

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

