Time Machine

I wish I owned a time machine. I remember when I was a kid watching that 1960 flick called “The Time Machine” adapted from the novel by H.G. Wells starring Rod Taylor…I was memorized by the idea of time travel. And not so much would I want to go into the future like Taylor did…but to be able to go back into the past. I would love to hop in that machine and go back to my carefree grade school days. Or to be able to relive a particularly exciting time in my life, you know to recapture the experience. Maybe I would have the chance to right a wrong or make some small change in something I regret doing or not doing. I know all you sci-fiers would then yell at me to not mess with the space-time continuum because of all its unrelenting consequences, like Dr. Emmitt Brown’s rantings in the “Back to the Future” movies.

To be honest, the real reason why I would want a time machine is so I could go back and be in a time before I found out some devastating news…to live once again in what I perceive as more innocent and naïve times.  Before the start of a war, before the discovery of a terrible new life threatening disease, before the loss of a princess, before the fall of two towers, before the illness of a loved one…I’d love to have any one of those days back.

 But I guess if I look at it in those terms, I suppose I don’t need a time machine because I am living in one of those times right now…and I need to enjoy the innocence of the time I am in…because this too will some day change.

Then I will be saying “I wish I had a time machine so I could go back to before…”

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

