Too Much is Enough!

You know…today’s kids have just too damn much stuff!!

They have scads of toys, video games, bikes and trikes, scooters and battery operated cars…not to mention the gazillion movies and endless TV kid oriented programming at their fingertips! Yesterday I tossed out 2 bags of broken and incomplete toys…my kids had no clue I did that!

Remember “The Waltons” growing up amid the depression era? What did those kids have…maybe one or two toys at best and they were thrilled if they were in possession of any money in excess of 15 cents!

We’re talking they had one pair of shoes…not 10.  So if old Reckless chewed up a pair of the Walton kids’ shoes…guess what…that was it, they are going off to school and to church with possibly half a shoe on each foot. “Sorry…dog chewed off the back of my shoe and it is all I have to wear today… cause we ain’t got the cash to replace them!”

They had respect for the little they owned and that little they did own was so very important to them. They took care of what they had!

I remember as a kid being totally devastated if one of my toys broke. As soon as my father stepped through the door from his workday, he was met by one of us kids with a plea to “Please fix my toy daddy”!

My kids don’t worry about fixing any toy…the dog can go through the kids toys and chew up anything he wishes…my kids will barely notice!

To me this is simply unacceptable! And it is not the right of passage for a child…it is the lack of respect for ones possessions and ultimately for each other!

Kids are growing up with the attitude of self-centeredness, and with an “everything is replaceable” approach towards life!  They don’t want chores they want candy…they don’t want books they want the damn TV!

And heaven knows I fear that they’ll feel like they don’t need to work hard at anything, good fortune will just land in their laps!!!

Somewhere I lost control…I’m betting it was at the beginning of my parenthood when I knew no better! Or maybe I just wasn’t sure how to implement my ideas with regards to parenting! 

But no matter what…and I’m not sure how…I am going to set this all straight!

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

