Linus van Pelt

 Halloween is over and as expected, the Christmas decorations and trees are already up reminding us of the big push for the year’s typically most pressured season. Poor Thanksgiving, one of my favorite holidays, seems to get lost in the entire Christmas shuffle.

This year I want to do things a bit differently so my family and I can truly get the full meaning of the end of year events for 2010.  I am denouncing all the commercialization which goes with the Christmas holiday. I am going to be more like Linus van Pelt from the Peanuts comic strip. Linus is a theologian and philosopher, always searching for a deeper and truer meaning to the holidays. Whether he is trying to please his own quasi-religious being, The Great Pumpkin, with the most “sincere” pumpkin patch, or giving a soliloquy reminding his friends about the true reason for the season which is the birth of Christ, he is always looking beyond what seems to be the “status quo” for everyone else.

I plan to focus on the spirit of both Thanksgiving and Christmas by taking things back to the basics. I refuse to give in to the hub-bub and lure the media shrouds us in this time of year. Myself, my kids, my husband and even old Buster, we are going to walk this season’s walk on the side of service and contemplation. I really believe that this will help bring back the true joy and fullness the heart is suppose to feel during the years happiest of seasons.

So Linus, you are my new role model on how to reconnect to the upcoming Holiday Season, that is by reconnecting to the spirit of which it is truly meant to be celebrated!!!

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Linus van Pelt

  1. I’M WITH YOU BARB THANKSGIVING IS A VERY IMPORTANT DAY. I BELIEVE THAT HALLOWEEN IS GETTING ALL THE ATTENTION BECAUSE IT IS MORE INCOME FOR THE MALLS. THINK OF IT, HOW MUCH MERCHANDISE CAN THEY SELL FOR THANKSGIVING?

Leave a Reply

