She has the Look!

 School starts at 9:00 am …at 9:01 today my phone rings and it’s the school nurse.

“Mrs. Curran, this is the school nurse calling about Grace. She is in my office and is complaining of a sore throat and cough and her back and belly hurt.”

“Really?”…I replied as if I hadn’t heard Grace complain about this earlier in the morning.

“Oh yes” the nurse replied “she has the look!”

Oh “the look” I thought…of corse she has “the look”!

“I think it would be best for her to go home” the nurse said.

So I got myself dressed and drove over to pick my “sick” child. Once I got Grace home I told her to get in her PJ’s, gave her some ibuprofen, and tucked her into bed.

For about 45minutes I heard nothing, then the following hour was filled with sounds of the bathroom door open and close, I could hear movement in her room…she comes downstairs…”Mom is it time to gargle yet?” Over the next two hours she became more and more restless, finally the big announcement came…”Mom…I’m all better now!”

Oh yeah you have “the look”…the look of a kid who just didn’t want to be in school for the day!

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to She has the Look!

  1. JUST A REMINDER GRACE IS ONLY IN SECOND GRADE THER IS MUCH MORE TO COME IN THE NEXT TEN YEARS OF SCHOOL SO TAKE A DEEP BREATH AND GET READY FOR FUN TIME.

Leave a Reply

