Licensing Crap!!!

I carry two professional licenses…one for Radiologic Technologist and one for Registered Nurse!

Both professions require that in order to maintain my licencse I must complete a specified number of CEC’s (continuing education credits) each year. For my RT licenses I need 24 credits every two years!

I remember when the radiology profession first started talking about this CEC crap back in the early ’90’s…I thought…I’m not doing that! I’ll be long gone out of this profession before 1995 rolls around!

Well here I am 15 years later…haven’t worked in radiology since 2002…and now I have only 9 days to complete my 24 CEC’s. (I decided that I didn’t want to let the license go that I worked so hard for all those years ago). I still think it is crap and that it’s just another way to get money out of us poor technologists. I admittedly will skim the directed readings for the answers to the questions, so I’m not really learning anything new. It’s just this stupid standard that the powers that be feel is warranted in order to raise up the profession and give it merit. If they want to do that then make it a Master’s degree requirement…like the Physical Therapy profession. I know Physical Therapists probably still have to earn their continuing education credits to maintain their licenses, but they earn a much high salary due to the educational requirement and the fact that the added degree does reduce the number of people in the field thus creating more of a damand for these professionals.

So they have more money and can better afford to pay for their CEC’s!

Let me shut up because time is of the essence…I better get to my directed readings and start skimming and answering questions…then I can relax until 2012!!!

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

