10/19/2010 at 10:52am

Phone rings…”Hello”

The voice on the other end “Charlie is going to the hospital. They are taking him by ambulance right now.”

“What’s going on?”

“The nurse said his heart rate is at 150 and she doesn’t like how he looks. Gotta go!” Click.

My heart sank and my throat developed this huge knot. I was panic stricken! I called my husband and a friend to quickly make arrangements for the kids after school…because I was not going to be home!

I jumped into my “mom” mobile and was off! Once I was on the road I started to become very nervous about my ability to make the hour and a half long trip down to the hospital where Charlie was being taken. “How am I going to handle being in this car, alone with my thoughts?” Sometimes that can be the worse possible thing for me…to be alone, all alone with my thoughts. So what did I do, exactly what any red blooded American girl would do…I called my mom.

“Mom…can you keep me company? I don’t want to be alone while I’m driving down to the hospital.”

My mom was there for me, and I stayed on the phone, or should I say hands-free bluetooth, with my mom for almost 2/3rd’s of my trip down. To be honest I can’t remember all we spoke about…but it was enough to take my mind to a different place…and I wasn’t alone.

Once to the hospital, I found Charlie in the ER, he was sitting up in bed, IV fluids running and I thought to myself “Thank God!” His color was not great but adequate, his voice was dry sounding and lips parched. I looked at the monitor to read his vitals…they looked good. He was admitted to the ER with the diagnosis of dehydration…then he was admitted to the hospital with the preliminary diagnosis of pneumonia.

This road is a tough one for all who love this wonderful man. Sadly the road has become one living hell for Charlie.

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in family, thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

