Fort II

  It’s so funny that my children built their own fort! They have been actually bugging my husband for a tree house…luckily for him, he now can use the excuse that it is getting cold and they won’t be able to use it in the winter. Not sure if they are buying it, but it’s his excuse and he’s sticking to it!

So why is it that kids have this innate desire, or maybe it’s a need, to have a place that they built and solely belongs to them? NO ADULTS ALLOWED!

I remember my best friend when I was a kid, her father did build a tree house for her older brother. It wasn’t much more than a piece of plywood somehow anchored onto the tree’s branches, with slats of wood nailed into the tree itself to serve as a ladder up to the landing.  Another friend of mine had a small shed connected to the back of her garage…we cleaned it all out and made in into our own little cottage. We decorated it and had an occasional sleep over in it!

This is not anything new to us as far as kids needing a special little hide-away….suppose you could say that it is every child’s right of passage. There is just something magical about that special place, where anything is possible. I find it very sweet and endearing the way my two can play together for hours in their fort! They are using their imaginations…and those imaginations can transport them anywhere!!!

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in children, thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fort II

  1. Rachel says:

    Their fort is so cool! And isn’t it great to see them use their imaginations just like we did when we were kids!?

Leave a Reply

