First Run

I laced up my running shoes today for the first time in seven months. I had been sidelined by a stress fracture which wasn’t diagnosed until July. Despite a snafu of medical misdiagnosis, overbilling and being given the incorrect air cast, I finally felt like today was the day to see what I could do.

I had my reservations…

I grabbed my bright pink sport glasses and a bottle of water and headed out up the hill on my 1.1 mile run. As I ran, I could feel the lack of exercise and extra weight I had managed to gain begin to plague my every step, weighing me down. My legs felt like they were hauling 10lbs of cinder block on each foot. I felt the thin drawstring of my running pants slowly slip down beneath the return of my love handles, and I could hear every breath I took. It was like running through cheesecake…it felt next to impossible to move my legs.

I thought about last year at this time…I was probably in the best physical condition of my adult life. I was carrying 147lbs on my 5’7″ frame; I was in Pilate’s class twice a week; and running between 25-35 miles every week…I was training for a full marathon…and I felt great! I thought about all those double didget runs I did while training and the belt with the goos and the beans, my long conversations with my good friend Donna, and I just couldn’t believe how much I lost physically in those 7 months!

My thoughts turned back to the run and I realized I was closing in on my neighbor’s white mailbox on the right side of the road. This meant the course was about to flatten out and that I was almost done! As I finished this test of physical (and mental) fortitude, I looked down at my watch… stupidly I took note to when I had started…it was 11:03am. Now my watch read 11:16am…it took me 13 minutes to run that 1.1 mile loop…damn! I ran mile 23 of the marathon in under 10 minutes…and now damn damn damn!

 As I was cursing myself and my oh so out of shape body, I suddenly remembered way back to before I ever decided to run a marathon, or even my first 5k. Trying to run around the block, I could barely make it from one mailbox to the next without having to stop to catch my breath.

Well I made it today, the whole way around my block. Not breaking any speed records or looking like it was done with ease as I felt I had in the past, and I certainly didn’t feel great. But to be perfectly honest, I put my running shoes on…and I did run today… and THAT, in itself, is a huge accomplishment !!!

About bacurran

I am a stay-at-home mom living in Hunterdon county NJ and I take care of my husband, two children and a great big giant black dog! This blog is a combination of snip-its from my daily life as a mom along with some of my thoughts on various mom and life related topics!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Run

  1. Doona says:

    All I can say is Yeah!!!!!! your back. Just remember as one of our “guru’s” said ” the accomplishment isn’t that you crossed the finish line, or in this case, ran the 1.1 miles, it’s that you had the courage to take the first step. Now you just have to keeping stringing more steps together, and I for one, can’t wait to be standing, or running right next to you. It’s soooooo good to have you back.
    Donna

  2. Joyce King says:

    You are amazing. I don’t think I have the fortitude to do it. And my block alone is a 2 mile run.

Leave a Reply

